#### ANGIE CRAIG 2ND DISTRICT, MINNESOTA

CRAIG.HOUSE.GOV

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY SUBCOMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH

# Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–2302

April 20, 2022

The Honorable Patty Murray 428 Senate Dirksen Office Building Washington, DC 20510

2176 Rayburn House Office Building

The Honorable Bobby Scott

Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Richard Burr 428 Senate Dirksen Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Virginia Foxx 2101 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Murray, Chairman Scott, Ranking Member Burr, and Ranking Member Foxx:

Thank you for your leadership and commitment to the American people. I write to you today related to your role on the Conference Committee for the *America COMPETES Act* and *United States Innovation and Competition Act of 2021* (USICA). I was proud to vote for the House passage of *America COMPETES* and look forward to a conferenced version of this important jobs and competitiveness package.

I urge the continued inclusion of my bipartisan *Supporting Apprenticeship Colleges Act*, included in the *America COMPETES Act* in Division J, Title IX, in the final package. This vital program would help to bolster America's skilled workforce by supporting current and future students joining the trades through community grants to expand and support outreach to potential students and employers.

Federally accredited apprentice programs have often been left out of higher education grant programs despite the extraordinary work they do to prepare students for high-demand jobs. Many of the common barriers for low-income students, such as childcare and support for first-generation students, continue to go unaddressed.

As our nation finally begins to recover from the many challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic, it is essential that everyone can find quality education that leads to the stable employment they deserve. Our workers require sound career and technical education to better play their vital roles in improving workforce productivity. We must invest in our skilled trade workers to promote a stronger economy and ensure the well-being of our constituents.

Thank you for your consideration.



COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMODITY EXCHANGES, ENERGY AND CREDIT

SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL FARM COMMODITIES AND RISK MANAGEMENT

> SUBCOMMITTEE ON LIVESTOCK AND FOREIGN AGRICULTURE

COMMITTEE ON SMALL BUSINESS SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT, INVESTIGATIONS & REGULATIONS

ANGIE CRAIG 2ND DISTRICT, MINNESOTA

CRAIG.HOUSE.GOV

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY SUBCOMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH

Sincerely,

Angie Gaig

Angie Craig Member of Congress

#### CC:

Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–2302 COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMODITY EXCHANGES, ENERGY AND CREDIT

SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL FARM COMMODITIES AND RISK MANAGEMENT

> SUBCOMMITTEE ON LIVESTOCK AND FOREIGN AGRICULTURE

COMMITTEE ON SMALL BUSINESS SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT, INVESTIGATIONS & REGULATIONS

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson The Honorable Zoe Lofgren The Honorable Suzanne Bonamici The Honorable Ami Bera The Honorable Haley Stevens The Honorable Jamaal Bowman The Honorable Bill Foster The Honorable Frank Lucas The Honorable Randy Weber The Honorable Brian Babin The Honorable Michael Waltz The Honorable Mike Garcia The Honorable Frank Pallone The Honorable Anna Eshoo The Honorable Jan Schakowsky The Honorable Doris Matsui The Honorable Paul Tonko The Honorable Lisa Blunt Rochester The Honorable Darren Soto The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers The Honorable Larry Bucshon The Honorable Buddy Carter The Honorable Jeff Duncan The Honorable Dan Crenshaw The Honorable Greg Meeks

CRAIG.HOUSE.GOV

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY SUBCOMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH

## Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–2302 COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMODITY EXCHANGES, ENERGY AND CREDIT

SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL FARM COMMODITIES AND RISK MANAGEMENT

> SUBCOMMITTEE ON LIVESTOCK AND FOREIGN AGRICULTURE

COMMITTEE ON SMALL BUSINESS SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT, INVESTIGATIONS & REGULATIONS

The Honorable Ted Deutch The Honorable Karen Bass The Honorable Joaquin Castro The Honorable Chrissy Houlahan The Honorable Sara Jacobs The Honorable Adam Kinzinger The Honorable Michael McCaul The Honorable Steve Chabot The Honorable Ann Wagner The Honorable Mark Green The Honorable Young Kim The Honorable Richard Neal The Honorable Earl Blumenauer The Honorable Danny Davis The Honorable Suzan DelBene The Honorable Judy Chu The Honorable Dan Kildee The Honorable Jimmy Gomez The Honorable Kevin Brady The Honorable Vern Buchanan The Honorable Adrian Smith The Honorable Darin LaHood The Honorable Carol Miller The Honorable Joe Morelle The Honorable Maxine Waters The Honorable Sylvia Garcia The Honorable Andy Barr The Honorable Dina Titus The Honorable Val Demings The Honorable Michael Guest The Honorable Jerrold Nadler The Honorable Mary Gay Scanlon The Honorable Tom Tiffany The Honorable Peter DeFazio

CRAIG.HOUSE.GOV

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY SUBCOMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH

## Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–2302 COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMODITY EXCHANGES, ENERGY AND CREDIT

SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL FARM COMMODITIES AND RISK MANAGEMENT

> SUBCOMMITTEE ON LIVESTOCK AND FOREIGN AGRICULTURE

COMMITTEE ON SMALL BUSINESS SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT, INVESTIGATIONS & REGULATIONS

The Honorable Tom Malinowski The Honorable Rick Crawford The Honorable Mark Takano The Honorable Chris Pappas The Honorable Mike Bost The Honorable David Scott The Honorable Chellie Pingree The Honorable Glenn Thompson The Honorable Donald Norcross The Honorable Veronica Escobar The Honorable Blake Moore The Honorable Raul Grijalva The Honorable Donald McEachin The Honorable Yvette Herrell The Honorable Carolyn Maloney The Honorable Ro Khanna The Honorable James Comer The Honorable Nydia Velazquez The Honorable Sharice Davids The Honorable Scott Fitzgerald The Honorable Maria Cantwell The Honorable Roger Wicker The Honorable John Barrasso The Honorable Bob Menendez The Honorable Jim Risch The Honorable Ron Wyden The Honorable Mike Crapo The Honorable Sherrod Brown The Honorable Pat Toomey The Honorable Gary Peters The Honorable Rob Portman The Honorable Chuck Grassley The Honorable Shelley Moore Capito The Honorable Jon Tester

CRAIG.HOUSE.GOV

COMMITTEE ON ENERGY AND COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATION & TECHNOLOGY SUBCOMMITTEE ON CONSUMER PROTECTION & COMMERCE SUBCOMMITTEE ON HEALTH

# Congress of the United States

House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515–2302 COMMITTEE ON AGRICULTURE SUBCOMMITTEE ON COMMODITY EXCHANGES, ENERGY AND CREDIT

SUBCOMMITTEE ON GENERAL FARM COMMODITIES AND RISK MANAGEMENT

> SUBCOMMITTEE ON LIVESTOCK AND FOREIGN AGRICULTURE

COMMITTEE ON SMALL BUSINESS SUBCOMMITTEE ON OVERSIGHT, INVESTIGATIONS & REGULATIONS

The Honorable Mark Warner The Honorable Richard Shelby The Honorable Tammy Baldwin The Honorable Martin Heinrich The Honorable John Hickenlooper The Honorable Raphael Warnock The Honorable John Cornyn The Honorable Todd Young The Honorable Jerry Moran

2442 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 (202) 225–2271