Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

September 16, 2019

The Honorable Nita Lowey Chairwoman US House Committee on Appropriations 2365 Rayburn HOB Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kay Granger Ranking Member US House Committee on Appropriations 1026 Longworth HOB Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Lowey and Ranking Member Granger:

We write to express our support for the inclusion of language in the continuing resolution (CR) which would allow USDA to move forward with the recently announced Market Facilitation Program (MFP) payments.

As members of congress who represent agricultural communities throughout the United States, we repeatedly hear from farmers in our districts whose livelihoods have been severely impacted by the recent trade wars. Although we all have concerns about President Trump's approach to trade negotiations, we refuse to engage in the same tactics that punish our constituents and harm our communities that rely on agriculture.

Because the Administration has jeopardized Farm Bill payments with their ad hoc approach to dealing with the impacts of their trade war, we now need to also ensure that USDA can make upcoming Farm Bill payments in October and maintain funding for the marketing loan program during this harvest season.

We ask that the upcoming CR include the anomaly requested by USDA that would allow them to access the \$30 billion spending of the Commodity Credit Corporation prior to October 1st to ensure that MFP and farm bill payments continue to go out.

We cannot and will not allow our farmers to be used as political pawns and will wholeheartedly resist any efforts intended to stop or delay these planned payments while farm families are fighting for their economic survival.

We urge you to include this provision as you continue negotiations on a CR and thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

ile V

Filemon Vela Member of Congress

Jim Costa Member of Congress

attruy or nati

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Josh Harder Member of Congress



Sean Patrick Maloney Member of Congress

li C. Bless

Collin Peterson Member of Congress

Une an

Cindy Axne Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress

TJ Cox / Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Laure (\mathbf{X})

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran Member of Congress

Anthony Delgado Member of Congress

Abby Finkenauer Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

nen

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Abigail Spanberger

Member of Congress

Xochitil Torres Small Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress