Congresswoman Angie Craig Introduces The All Dependent Children Count Act To Cover Dependents Up to Age 24

March 31, 2020
Press Release

Today, U.S. Rep. Angie Craig and 86 other bipartisan Members of Congress introduced the All Dependent Children Count Act which would expand the definition of a dependent for the Recovery Rebates for Individual sections of the CARES Act to include: children younger than 19, students 24 and younger and no age limit for dependents who are disabled. 

Rep. Craig’s bill, the All Dependent Children Count Act, would update the CARES Act to be reflective and supportive of today’s families. 

You can find the full bill text
PDF iconhere.

“In the middle of a pandemic, we need to look out for our working families and make sure we are doing everything we can to provide financial support to those most in need,” said Rep. Angie Craig. “When I learned that we were leaving out dependents over 17 and students up to age 24 as well as the disabled, I knew we needed to introduce legislation to fix this immediately. I urge the House to take up this legislation as quickly as possible or to correct this retroactively to the CARES Act in the next bill.”

Authored by Rep. Craig, original cosponsors of the All Dependent Children Count Act include: Reps. Cindy Axne, Don Beyer, Sanford D. Bishop, Earl Blumenauer, Lisa Blunt Rochester, Tony Cárdenas, Joaquin Castro, David Cicilline, Steve Cohen, Gerry Connolly, Jason Crow, Judy Chu, Sharice Davids, Madeleine Dean, Peter DeFazio, Ted Deutch, Mike Doyle, Veronica Escobar, Adriano Espaillat, Jeff Fortenberry, Sylvia Garcia, Vicente Gonzalez, Brian Higgins, Sheila Jackson Lee, Pramila Jayapal, Marcy Kaptur, John Katko, Derek Kilmer, Raja Krishnamoorthi, Annie Kuster, James Langevin, Rick Larsen, John B. Larson, Mike Levin, Dave Loebsack, Alan Lowenthal, Ben Ray Luján, Stephen Lynch, Carolyn Maloney, Sean Patrick Maloney, Ben McAdams, Gregory W. Meeks, Joe Morelle, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Stephanie Murphy, Jerrold Nadler, Grace Napolitano, Joe Neguse, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Jimmy Panetta, Chris Pappas, Collin C. Peterson, Dean Phillips, Chellie Pingree, Mark Pocan, Katie Porter, David Price, Max Rose, Harley Rouda, Lucille Roybal-Allard, C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, Tim Ryan, Gregorio Sablan, Mary Gay Scanlon, Jan Schakowsky, David Scott, Terri Sewell, Donna Shalala, Mikie Sherill, Elissa Slotkin, Adam Smith, Darren Soto, Abigail Davis Spanberger, Haley Stevens, Mark Takano, Rashida Tlaib, Lori Trahan, David Trone, Lauren Underwood, Nydia M. Velázquez, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Peter Welch, Susan Wild, Frederica S. Wilson, and John Yarmuth.